A typical day in DPC

Having my leisurely morning coffee. No work to do until I go into the office this post 4th of July holiday. No calls or texts from patients which isn’t really typical, I tend to get 1-2. One email I’ll adress this morning.

My day is rather typical, 8 patients on my schedule and I predict I’ll add a couple more as sick visits. Usually a little busier in the winter months since we are a rather seasonal town.

Typical issues with todays line up. Three annual visits, a follow up for renal issues, HTN and depression on a new medication. I don’t recall the others at the moment.

Now almost 5 years in, I’m so happy to be out of the malignant employed position I was in prior needing to review labs that came in overnight 1-2 hours before office patients start. Usually 20-24 patients on my schedule and working through lunch to finish notes, refills meds and answer patient calls to start all over again at 1pm. Getting done around 5-530pm, but still needing another hour or two to finish charting, refills meds and answer patient calls. Dinner at home, but then some pajama time work on computer reviewing consults and imaging reports that trickled in this afternoon.

DPC allows me to leave work at an appropriate time and when home I’m fully present. I rarely do any work at home unless an urgent issue with a patient or some administrative task. DPC has allowed me to fall in love with medicine again ❤️.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started